Pizza with Chicken, Potato & Chilli

Who doesn’t like pizza? I’m a thin base and crispy crust kinda girl. But I have a confession to make. As I’ve previously stated, on the record, I’m not good with baking goods and I include dough in that. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve tried to make pizza dough from scratch and it’s been only ok. A couple of years ago, his good self treated himself to a bread-maker and one of the first things we made in it was pizza dough. Turned out nice too, so that recipe was a keeper. For this recipe, I let the bread-maker do the work, it kneads and proves the dough to a perfect spongy, bouncy and yeasty base. Yes, it’s a cheat but sometimes you have to accept defeat and move on.

We had roast chicken with steamed potatoes during the week and, of course, there were leftovers. Football has taken over my house, so I’m getting the kitchen to myself a lot. I was in the mood for pizza and decided to try something different, this was based on what I had to hand. The following is for one:

Pizza dough, made whatever way you want, you know what I do

1 clove garlic, left whole

Large sprig rosemary,

Quarter cup olive oil

Left over chicken breast, shredded

Cooked potato, peeled and thinly sliced

Half red chilli, thinly sliced, seeds in or out depending on your preference

Small shallot, thinly sliced

Couple tablespoons grated cheese of your choice, I only had cheddar in the fridge

While the dough was proving, I made my infused oil. Simply put the oil, garlic and rosemary into a small saucepan. Let it come to a gentle simmer, the oil should shimmer and glisten. Turn off the heat, cover the pot and let it sit for a couple of hours, if possible.

Meanwhile, shred your chicken and slice your chillies, shallot and potatoes. Once my bread-maker finished its business, I knocked back the dough and rolled it out into a rustic oval shape, no perfect circles here.

Generously brush the base with your infused oil, let it get really oily and shiny, just make sure you don’t take it right to the edge, you want a crunchy crust. Scatter over your toppings, then lightly brush with more of the oil and season with freshly ground black pepper and sea salt flakes. Grate over your cheese. Place on a preheated floured baking tray, and into a very hot oven for approx 10 to 20mins. It really depends on how hot and good your oven is.

 

Eat with a green salad, or like I did, on its own, straight from the oven. It really was delicious and made a nice change from a tomato sauce based run-of-the-mill pizza and, of course, was a great way to use up my leftovers.

One thought on “Pizza with Chicken, Potato & Chilli

Leave a Reply

