Another Baking Adventure – Red Velvet Cupcakes

I haven’t been able to blog recently, but here I am back and bursting to cook!! Since I began trying to bake a few weeks back, I’ve been intrigued by the idea of Red velvet cakes. But being a fraidy cat, I  decided that the cupcake version might be the best avenue for me. I chose the Odlums Recipe as it was the most straightforward and didn’t require buttermilk, which I didn’t have in the fridge. I also used Flora light instead of real butter in the recipe.

The mixture comes out as a very runny batter and I will admit, that I found it slightly frightening. I convinced myself that I had fecked it up and a disaster was imminent. After the required 20mins the cupcakes came out fluffy and moist. But, and here’s the big but, they had very little flavour. In fact, me and himself found them very tasteless indeed.

Don’t get me wrong, the texture was amazing, they were light and spongy as I imagine they should be. They were just a bit meh! I topped them with a shop-bought marshmallow crème, mixed with a little red colouring, and this added a little flavour and sweetness. But shouldn’t cupcakes be tasty without the need for a fancy hat? Back to the mixing bowl, I think.

Leave a Reply

