BBQ Time

It appears that summer has arrived. It is cooler today but the weekend was amazing. Thursday night we discovered that our BBQ had rusted pretty badly over the damp rainy winter. A conversation with a friend pointed us in the direction of a new BBQ that her Brazilian husband swears by. BBQ is a mainstay of Brazilian cooking, so he should know what he’s talking about. I must get some recipes off them!

We bought this BBQ:

20120528-171700.jpg

I left it to himself to assemble, fairly straight forward and stress free, though a minor injury was incurred. Instructions were followed and the work was completed. We have owned both types of BBQ and I have to say that I really prefer the charcoal one. Cooking over a gas BBQ feels like cooking over my ordinary gas hob, there’s definitely something special about the flavour imparted by the coals. I just wish there wasn’t such a palaver about getting the blasted coals lighting.

Early on Saturday afternoon, I got to marinating and preparation. I use the plastic takeaway cartons for this, they have a cover and thus you can shake the life out of them. Our BBQ was fairly meat heavy. I chopped two chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces.

20120528-172940.jpg

One breast I mixed with a dry rub of
large pinches of chilli powder, chilli flakes, paprika, ground coriander, garlic salt
small pinches of ground ginger, ground cumin, ground cinnamon
Freshly ground black pepper
Teaspoon of oil
All mixed well and let to sit for a few hours.

The second breast I coated with 2tbsp Frank’s Hot Sauce, 1 crushed garlic clove, 1tbsp honey and a sprig of rosemary. Mix well, and again let sit for a few hours.

You skewer these up, add peppers if you want, to either of them. They only take less than 10mins over the hot coals. We didn’t finish these skewers and they were lovely in a salad the next day.

20120528-173941.jpg

I also made a firm favourite in this house, chorizo, veg and rosemary skewers with lashings of crunchy sea salt. Chorizo is best off the BBQ, I’m sure I must have mentioned that I love chorizo at this stage.

20120528-174215.jpg

We also had simple striploin steaks and corn on the cob. The corn get so sweet over the coals and you must smother them in butter, it’s a rule I believe.

20120528-174501.jpg

The BBQ itself worked out well and is really easy to clean, well that’s what himself said!

Leave a Reply

